If you are a high wage earner, your temporary disability benefits are capped at the State maximum rate. In 2020, the maximum rate in New Jersey is $945/week. Some employers may voluntarily offer to pay the difference between the workers’ compensation rate and your salary. However, they are not required to do so. Speak with your human resources department to inquire about whether your company offers such a benefit.
If you earn only the minimum wage and work part-time, you may be entitled to receive more than your average weekly wage if you are hurt on the job and unable to work. New Jersey law establishes a minimum weekly rate, which may exceed your part-time wages. In 2020, the minimum rate in New Jersey is $252/week.
Call Now For A Free Case Evaluation